Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?

Release: 1 March 1993
Label: Island / Polydor
Format: 12″ Vinyl, CD, Cassette


1.     I Still Do (3:17)
2.     Dreams (4:32)
3.     Sunday (3:30)
4.     Pretty (2:16)
5.     Waltzing Back (3:37)
6.     Not Sorry (4:20)
7.     Linger (4:34)
8.     Wanted (2:07)
9.     Still Can’t… (3:39)
10.   I Will Always (2:42)
11.   How (2:51)
12.   Put Me Down (3:33)

Japanese CD bonus tracks (1994)
13.   Linger (Acoustic Live Version)
14.   Dreams (Live Version)

“The Complete Sessions 1991-1993″ release (2002)
13.   Reason (2:02)
14.   Them (3:42)
15.   What You Were (3:41)
16.   Liar (2:22)
17.   Pretty (Prêt-à-Porter Movie Remix) (3:41)
18.   How (Radical Mix) (2:58)


  • On this link, an attempt to list all the physical versions/releases of the album worldwide


  • Windmill Lane Studios
    Dublin, Ireland – 1992 (precise dates unknown)
    I Still Do / Dreams / Sunday / Pretty / Waltzing Back / Linger / Wanted / Still Can’t… / I Will Always / How / Put Me Down / Reason
  • Surrey Sound Studios
    London, England, U.K. – date unknown
    Not Sorry
  • It is unclear at which studio those tracks were recorded:
    What You Were / Liar


Dolores O’Riordan – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Noel Hogan – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Mike Hogan – Bass Guitar
Fergal Lawler – Drums, Percussion

Music: all songs written by N. Hogan & D. O’Riordan except Waltzing Back, I Will Always, How, What You Were composed by D. O’Riordan and How (Radical Mix) composed by The Cranberries
Lyrics: D. O’Riordan
Backing vocals and additional sounds on Dreams by Mike Mahoney

Produced and engineered by Stephen Street except for Them produced by The Cranberries and Pearse Gilmore
Additional engineering by Aiden MacGovern at Windmill Studios except for Not Sorry, Reason, Them, What You Were, Liar, Pretty (Remix), How (Radical Mix)
Mixed at Maison Rouge, Fulham, London except for Not Sorry recorded and mixed at Surrey Sound

Photography: Andy Earl & Valerie Phillips
Art Direction and Design: Cally on Art Island with thanks to Charlotte, Rob Crane and Visions
Hand lettering: Charlotte Villiers

All songs published by Island Music Ltd. controlled in the U.S. and Canada by Songs of Polygram International, IN. (BMI) except for Them published by Xeric Records 1993


Thanks to everyone who made this possible:
Stuart Every; Rob Kirwan, Derek Fischer; Geoff, Jeanette and Tim at Rough Trade; everyone at Island Records; our very brilliant crew: Sett (Tour manager), Declan B, Gary and Mike. Also thanks to Joe Browne for his support. Thanks to PJ for everything.


  • The Cranberries began the recording of their first album in January 1992 with Pearse Gilmore, who previously worked with them on their Xeric label material. However, the band was not happy with the results and the work was scrapped. “Unhappy with the results – Gilmore had cluttered the mixes with dance beats and industrial-style guitar – and barely on speaking term with each other, the band scrapped the tracks and fired Gilmore.” – Rolling Stone, Issue 704, 23 March 1995, p60.
  • After hiring a new manager, the band started working again on the album, this time with producer Stephen Street – who previously worked with The Smiths.
  • The sofa used on the album cover picture is known as “The Alf Garnett Suite”
  • “The Cranberries” lower caps logo was made of a rubber stamp bought in Amsterdam.
  • “We were sitting around watching TV and we were needing money, and this Irish band was playing and I believe it was Dolores who said, look everybody else is doing it, so why can’t we, the ‘it’ being getting their music out, getting it played” – Fergal, Buzzz, Issue 94, December 1993.

Comments are closed.