Dolores wrote over 30 songs for Are You Listening?

February 21, 2007  |  Comments Off on Dolores wrote over 30 songs for Are You Listening?  |  by Zombieguide Archives  |  Dolores O'Riordan

Static Multimedia has posted what appears to be a Sanctuary-penned synopsis of Dolores O’Riordan’s forthcoming solo album Are You Listening?
The press release reveals that the singer has written over 30 songs over the past five years, only 12 of which appear on the forthcoming album. This extreme sort of “boiling down” of songs seems to fit in with the direction that O’Riordan was heading when she was starting to write The Cranberries’ ill-fated sixth album in 2002.
She told Italian TV network La7 in July 2003, “We’re concentrating on writing right now, taking our time to do a really beautiful album. Even if we write 4 songs, we’ll throw 3 of them away and we’ll choose 1 [to keep]. We’ve got to be very selective to be sure that the next album is really good, because it doesn’t make sense to make an album otherwise, so we prefer to take our time, to enjoy the period of writing, and time spent at home. Then we can go out with a really great disc and a good tour.”
Also, it should be pointed out that “Apple of My Eye” appears as “Apple” in this press release.

Dolores O’Riordan 1st Solo
Iconic – Ethereal – Exquisite
Three adjectives that can be used to describe both album and artist. Sanctuary Records is thrilled to release Dolores O’Riordan’s first solo e ort, ARE YOU LISTENING? on May 15, 2007.
Taking her time after the demise of The Cranberries (who sold 40 million records worldwide), Dolores O’Riordan retreated to real life with her husband. She had three children and wrote over 30 songs. She never rushed. And when she was ready, she whittled those 30 songs down to the terrific 12 tracks that make up ARE YOU LISTENING?
A logical successor to The Cranberries, but a knowingly more mature e ort, ARE YOU LISTENING? takes the listener on a journey of the heart. From the rage of “Black Widow,” to the sweet romance of “Apple” to the joy of first single “Ordinary Day,” O’Riordan always was – and remains – one of the few vocalists that can capture emotion in a song.
It comes down to the voice. THAT voice. You know just where you were the first time you heard “Linger” or “Dreams” or “Zombie.” That power remains intact when hearing ARE YOU LISTENING? Dolores O’Riordan is one of a handful of artists who can be identified from the second they sing their first note.
Co-produced by Youth, Dan Broadbeck and Rich Chycki, ARE YOU LISTENING? is a stunning debut from an artist who really has nothing to prove but everything to share.
Track Listing:
1. Ordinary Day
2. When We Were Young
3. In the Garden
4. Human Spirit
5. Loser
6. Stay With Me
7. Apple
8. Black Widow
9. October
10. Accept Things
11. Angel Fire
12. Ecstasy

Thanks to celticyodels for finding it.

Source: Static Multimedia.

Posted in Dolores O'Riordan. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.


Cranberries World (Present - 01/2012) Cranberries Press (01/2012 - 10/2011) Zombieguide (09/2007 - 07/1999)